The Board of Cosmetology Esthetics Regulations
The law that governs your profession is found in the Code of Virginia, 1950, as amended, in Title 54.1, Chapter 7. That law permits the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation to issue regulations that tell you more about what is expected of you in your profession. This booklet contains a copy of the regulations that you will need to know and obey to get and keep your license.
BE SURE YOU READ AND UNDERSTAND THE STANDARDS OF PRACTICE AND CONDUCT. YOUR FAILURE TO OBEY THESE STANDARDS COULD RESULT IN A MONETARY PENALTY OR LOSS OF YOUR LICENSE.

Learn more



Waxing Regulations
Part I. General
Part II. Entry
Part III. Fees
Part IV. Renewal/Reinstatement
Part V. Waxing Schools
Part VI. Standards of Practice

Learn more


Lasers (Hair Removal)
Light-based hair removal is and has been available in Virginia in physicians’ practices and, as in other states, in nonmedical settings as well.  The Board of Medicine receives a number of inquiries about the modality, usually in the realm of, “Does the Board of Medicine have laws or regulations governing light-based hair removal?” and “Is light-based hair removal considered the practice of medicine?”

Learn more

Codes for Barbers and Cosmetology

Learn more

Code for Lasers
As used in this subtitle, "laser surgery" means treatment through revision, destruction, incision or other structural alteration of human tissue using laser technology. Under this definition, the continued use of laser technology solely for nonsurgical purposes of examination and diagnosis shall be permitted for those professions whose licenses permit such use.

Learn more


Summary of Virginia Licensing Requirements

BOARD FOR BARBERS & COSMETOLOGY
www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/BarberCosmo | (804) 367-8509

Cosmetologist

  • Completion of an Approved Training Program
    • 1,500 hours in licensed Virginia school; or
    • 3,000-hour Registered Apprenticeship (DOLI); or
    • Virginia High School Cosmetology Program;
    • Equivalent Out-of-State program* (U.S. Only)
  • Pass written and practical exam
  • Submit License Application and Fee

Barber

NOTE: Regulations to establish Master Barber license requirements are currently under development.

  • Completion of an Approved Training Program
    • 1,100 hours in licensed Virginia school; or
    • 2,000-hour Registered Apprenticeship (DOLI); or
    • Virginia High School Barber Program; or
    • Equivalent Out-of-State program* (U.S. Only)
  • Pass written and practical exam
  • Submit License Application and Fee

Nail Technician

  • Completion of an Approved Training Program
    • 150 hours in licensed Virginia school; or
    • 2,000-hour Registered Apprenticeship (DOLI); or
    • Virginia High School Nail Tech Program; or
    • Equivalent Out-of-State program* (U.S. Only)
  • Pass written and practical exam
  • Submit License Application and Fee

Wax Technician

  • Completion of an Approved Training Program
  • Pass written and practical exam
  • Submit License Application and Fee

Esthetician

  • Completion of an Approved Training Program
    • 600 hours in licensed Virginia school; or
    • 2,000-hour Registered Apprenticeship (DOLI); or
    • Equivalent Out-of-State program* (U.S. Only)
  • Pass written and practical exam
  • Submit License Application and Fee

Master Esthetician

  • Virginia Esthetician License
  • Completion of an Approved Training Program
    • 600 hours in licensed Virginia school; or
    • 2,000-hour Registered Apprenticeship (DOLI); or
    • Equivalent Out-of-State program* (U.S. Only)
  • Pass written and practical exam
  • Submit License Application and Fee

Tattooer

  • Completion of an Approved Training Program
    • 750 hours in licensed Virginia school; or
    • 1,500 hour Registered Apprenticeship (DPOR); or
    • For Out-of-State applicants (U.S. Only):
      • Equivalent Out-of-State program* or 3 years legal tattooing experience out of last 5 years, AND
      • Approved bloodborne pathogen, CPR, and First Aid (see approved providers guidance document)
  • Pass written exam
  • Submit License Application and Fee

Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer

  • Completion of an Approved Training Program
    • 90 hours in licensed Virginia school; or
    • For Out-of-State applicants (U.S. Only):
      • Equivalent Out-of-State program* or 3 years legal tattooing experience out of last 5 years, AND
      • Approved bloodborne pathogen, CPR, and First Aid (see approved providers guidance document)
  • Pass written exam
  • Submit License Application and Fee

Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer

  • Completion of an Approved Training Program
    • Training must include cheek blush, eye shadow, breast and scar re-pigmentation or camouflage (U.S. Only)
  • Pass written exam
  • Submit License Application and Fee

Body-Piercer

  • Completion of an Approved Training Program
    • 1,500 hour Registered Apprenticeship (DPOR); or
    • For Out-of-State applicants (U.S. Only):
      • Equivalent Out-of-State program* or 3 years legal tattooing experience out of last 5 years, AND
      • Approved bloodborne pathogen, CPR, and First Aid (see approved providers guidance document)
  • Pass written exam
  • Submit License Application and Fee

Ear-Only Body-Piercer

  • Training on a mechanized, pre-sterilized ear-piercing system that penetrates the outer perimeter and/or lobe of the ear and aftercare of piercing
  • Approved bloodborne pathogen, CPR, and First Aid (see approved providers guidance document)
  • Submit License Application and Fee

*ATTENTION: Out-of-State Applicants
If your training consisted of the same or more hours than the Virginia requirement, you must submit documentation of your training (see Training & Experience Verification Form). If your hours were less than Virginia’s requirement, then you must submit proof of 6 months’ work experience along with your training documentation (see Training & Experience Verification Form).

Summary of Virginia Licensing Requirements (PDF)